San Francisco Domestic Violence Prevention Advocate and Millbrae Mayor Receive Senate District 8 Honor

SAN FRANCISCO/MILLBRAE – Senator Leland Yee (D-San Francisco/San Mateo) today announced that he will be honoring Beverly Upton, Executive Director of the San Francisco Domestic Violence Consortium, and Millbrae Mayor Marge Colapietro as the 2012 Women of the Year.

“I am proud to honor Beverly and Marge for their lifetime of service to our communities in San Francisco and San Mateo County,” said Yee.

“I have worked with Beverly Upton for years to pass some of the strongest domestic violence laws in the country,” said Yee.  “Her passion and commitment to survivors is commendable and most deserving of this recognition.”

As a survivor of domestic violence, Upton brings both her experience in the struggle for human rights and her commitment to end family violence to the movement for social change. With a background in business and design she joined the campaign for the human rights of garment workers in the 1980’s.

As the Executive Director of San Francisco Domestic Violence Consortium, she is a strong advocate working in collaboration with shelters, legal service providers and public policy agencies regarding sound integrated policies that close gaps and provide the best possible outcomes for battered women and their children.

Upton serves on advisory committees for both the Safestart and Justice & Courage initiatives in San Francisco as well as the CalWorks oversight committee. She also serves as a co-chair of the Mayor’s Family Violence Council and has worked on numerous pieces of local, state and federal legislation.

“Mayor Colapietro leadership on the Millbrae City Council is admirable, but I am equally impressed with her decades of volunteerism,” said Yee. “The people of Millbrae and all of San Mateo County are fortunate to have such an advocate and fighter serving them on the Council.”

Colapietro moved to Millbrae in 1972 and since then has set a high standard for volunteerism and activism.  She has served on the 50th Anniversary Committee, the Committee to Save Millbrae Fire Services, the Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors, the Crime Stoppers Board of Directors, the Senior Advisory Committee, the Outreach Committee, MCTV, Friends of the Millbrae Library, the Millbrae Historical Society, the Millbrae Lions, Rotary, Soroptimist’s, the Bay Area Special Olympics Lions Club and the North Peninsula Democratic Club, among others.

“Whether it is serving on various committees or standing up for important causes, Marge is always there for her constituents,” said Yee. “She is the epitome of what a public servant should be.”

Yee’s former Women of the Year include Zoe Dunning of San Francisco, Hene Kelly of San Francisco, Emily Murase of San Francisco, Lisa Jovick of San Francisco, Karyl Matsumoto of South San Francisco, Annette Hipona of Daly City, Tess Manalo-Ventresca of San Francisco, Marie Brizuela of Broadmoor, and Libby Denebeim of San Francisco.


Contact: Adam J. Keigwin
(916) 651-4008